The Roszkowiaks

La Baie, Haiti

I never really realized how fast kids grow up!

We’ve been in the Baie since June now, and since then, we’ve had the privilege of helping to raise the most amazing six children that I’ve ever met. I know, I know, I’m biased but still, I think they are! In September, we added to our bunch another 8 children! This in of itself was a surprise because we thought we were only taking in 6 more! When we got to St. Louis to get our new babies, there were 7 little ones waiting for us, and a new boy named Pierreson who’s mom had recently passed away, leaving him an orphan to his grandmother who wasn’t able to care for him by herself. So as a mission we adopted Pierrson, who is 6 years old. So that gave us a total of 8 new kiddos to love and to care for. I myself, had thought we were pretty well prepared for the change in our family that was about to happen…

I prided myself in getting our kids mentally ready for the increase in our family that was about to happen…we busted a door in between the two bedrooms and we moved the boys into the new “boys bedroom” and the girls into the “girls bedroom”. SCC brought in some pink and blue fabric boxes for us to organize, label and sort all the kiddos clothes into! We made new beds for all the kiddos and organized the rooms; prepared them for how many were to come (at that time we thought 6)! And so for about a week our babies were so excited, they would ask about the new babies coming- they knew all their names! They would point out the empty beds at night and say, “mommy, this is where Donly and Kenny are going to sleep? and in this room, Junie and Magdaly are going to sleep”. When we got dressed, they would point to the boxes waiting to be filled with clothes and ask, “is this Mackendy’s box? His clothes will go here? Is this Wilgens box? This is where he will put his clothes?”. And so we thought, this is going to be GREAT and simple…no sibling rivalry whatsoever!

Well, then we came home with the new babies +2 and everything kind of just fell apart, and I mean it was CRAZY! First, all the new babies were so afraid of the dogs, they didn’t want to walk at all- they all had to be held 24/7…there just wasn’t enough of us to hold them all and we were double hipping it too! I thought they were the worst part, that they would adjust and then it would be okay in a few days, but the affect it had on our own kiddos, (the original 6) broke my heart! It started with our kids crying, then not wanting to feed themselves; basically anything to get attention. BOY- I thought, Lord this is going to be impossible…

Living in Haiti, living with these “orphans”, people sometimes call them, has been the most heart changing experience for me since I met Grant. As the Lord is so faithful, things began to change…and in seeing the changes, it has affirmed my heart SO MUCH of what is going on here in our little town of LA BAIE, here in our campus, our family- how truly just the LOVE OF CHRIST, can change a child, and that is one of the most beautiful things I have seen being at NWHCM, being a missionary of Christ, seeing that all that truly matters in this world, is that we strive to win those for Christ, that we TELL THE GOOD NEWS, that we raise up disciples to make disciples to make disciples and go out into this world…

The change that we saw was an eye opener, we really didn’t even realize that our children were so different until these new babies were brought into our world…The first week, I went to tuck the kiddos into bed, and the new babies had no idea what was going on, they laid there stoic, and their eyes gazed up and I’m sure wondered, “what is this woman doing?” the original 6 however, not the case. 1. they make out with you until you tickle them- just have a second to get away- but then they follow you, jump on your back to the next bed, and so on, basically I have to run out of the room :) We had a big talk with our original 6 and told them how we needed their help with the new babies, and that we couldn’t do this alone…that next week, our original six were taking the babies to the bathroom, feeding them and kissing their booboos! I walked into their bedroom one night and the twins (Haley and Hannah) had taken Junie, a new baby, onto their bed, and were holding one of her eyes open, blowing in it, and then kissing it after Junie blinked. The twins asked her, “is that better?” and it just brought the biggest smile and frown to my face- I was so happy, but it made me want to cry to see them imitating me, and how I care for them…they were growing up, right in front of my eyes, and were no longer babies as I once saw them! The older girls continue to be my biggest helpers, they even like to carry Magdaly when we cries to be held (and I tell them they are going to break their backs, but they never listen…if she cries, they run to pick her up- she is like their baby). Angela will herd the children home after school or church gets out, yelling “ALE ALE” telling the kids to hurry up and walk so we can all get home before the sun sets :) If someone cries, she is the one to sound an alarm, and let us know where to go…and just a few months ago, it was hard for us to understand what she was even saying. It is sweet the blessings we have been able to experience and witness.

At night in the beginning, I would ask Grant- these new babies are NOTHING like ours, they are so different! Ours were never like this, were they? And he replied “I’m sure they were, but we just don’t remember ┬ánow because we are so used to how they are now, it is almost a faded memory we have forgotten.” And so we pray that as we continue to live with our new family (stretched a bit) that one day the exhausted, crazy nights where I laid in bed wondering, Lord are you sure this was your will, will be just another faded memory until the next batch comes… and we will remember and celebrate how beautiful these children have become as they are molded by the Holy Spirit!

The most recent thing, we all went to the beach Friday when school was out- and almost all 14 children got in the ocean! Even JUJU which is a big victory! We are lucky that the ocean is just low enough at the beach for all our kiddos to wade in it. They were all sitting on the boats, playing in the water, even holding their breath, going under, and I thought “ah you’re only 3 years old” but I guess that’s old enough! They loved it so much, they all were begging to stay, or saying “just let me wash my feet, hands and shoes once more” just to touch the ocean. So since we did so well, I think it will be our weekly Saturday outing- beach day :) and each day since they have been asking, “are we going to the beach today?”. No baby I say, not until next week…

The Salines Mayette kiddos came out (the oldest ones) and they had a beach day too this weekend! I have never seen such excitement, joy and play…they were much more crazy than our kids in the water, imagine that, as they had no chance of drowning in this low depth :) They seemed so at peace, and loved each other so well. It was encouraging to see how much PLAY is important for development of all children, even when they get older. One of them had written in the sand that he loved Jesus. He wrote thanking Jesus for this day- just to be here at the beach; he took the time to worship GOD in that moment, and I was humbled. I said earlier, some people call our kids “orphans” and sometimes I forget they are, because I don’t see it that way- but when we look at the work orphan Biblically and realize that we too are orphans, more so, we are the adopted sons and daughters of the King, and co-heirs with Christ. It humbles me to see our “orphans” in such a tangible way; to see and just KNOW how much I, Grant, the staff, LOVE LOVE LOVE these kids- but God loves them WAY MORE. I can’t even fathom His love for us!

And they will grow, as they have, stronger and stronger with the love of Christ, and they will be powerful, filled with the Holy Spirit and then THEY will be bringing hope to all the nations.

I just love that.

Love,

The Roszkowiaks!

1 Comment»

  John Bailey wrote @

You and Grant are awesome! We can’t wait to come back and meet your new kids.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

